top of page

Review | My Only Reason (Men of Monroe #2) by Rachel Brookes --> 5 Stars


All That I Am Cover

TITLE: My Only Reason

SERIES: Men of Monroe #2 AUTHOR: Rachel Brookes GENRES: Contemporary Romance

RELEASE DATE: June 24th, 2019

Fall in love with my teenage crush - tick Propose to him on a leap year - tick Receive a sad look and a whispered 'we can't' - tick, tick, tick. Austin Hart was my first everything–crush, love, and heartbreak. Seven years ago, he broke me to pieces and when my world imploded two years later, I stupidly fell back into his bed, seeking comfort only he could give. Accepting that we would never be together, I left Monroe and let him become a distant memory. Five years later an opportunity I can’t refuse forces me to make the long trip back to Monroe. And Monroe means seeing Austin again. I’d be lying if I said the years haven’t been good to him. He’s undeniably sexy, smoldering, and he still makes my heart flutter regardless of how much I want to dislike him. My body may still react, but my mind will never forget. Though I promised myself I’d never fall under his spell again, he has other plans— and the universe has even bigger ones.

⭐️ 5 "Flowers & Whiskey" Stars ⭐️

My Only Reason was everything I wanted and more. I had eagerly been waiting for this book and was so happy to get back to Monroe. Rachel Brookes shaped a fantastic swoon-worthy second chance romance between Marnie and Austin. This story is brimming with hilarious dialogues, intense chemistry, adorable moments and emotional components.

"She tasted like whiskey and second chances. She felt like new beginnings and chasing dreams."

Marnie is back in Monroe where she finally has the chance to live her dream and open her florist shop. Being back means facing her ex. She tries to stay strong and not succumb to Austin’s charm, but the man is just so resolute to get her back. She’s conflicted with her old feelings for him slowly resurfacing, but she first needs to learn to trust him again. It’s truly a beautiful process to see them open up to each other again. Marnie has fire in her and certainly doesn’t make it easy for Austin. The old wounds of their break up are still present and hard to let go.

Austin Hart is the perfect balance between alpha and gentle. It’s clear from their reunion he still has strong feelings for the young woman. I enjoyed immensely how he is clear in his intentions to get her back right from the start. He gets all possessive and determined; this side of his personality being so seductive. As much as it’s a turn on, he can also be so caring and dreamy.

This novel put a wide grin on my face, but also had the ability to make me cry. My heart was bursting with blissful feelings over the lovely slow burn romance between this wonderful couple.

The slow build of their healing relationship is flawlessly executed. It’s at the right pace for them to completely give in to each other. Their powerful connection is sexy and mesmerizing.

One aspect I loved more than anything about this novel is the fantastic dynamic between the whole group of friends. The amusing instants and the support shared between friends and family just gives another dimension to this story.

"If I'm the sun that brightened your dark days, then you're the earth that allowed my flowers to bloom."

My Only Reason is an exquisite love story. There is a little bit of everything in this book making it utterly riveting! This trip to Monroe was charming and I’m more than excited for the next installment in the Men of Monroe Series.

** ARC received in exchange for an honest review **

THE MEN OF MONROE SERIES

Book #1

All That I Am

RACHEL BROOKES

Rachel Brookes is from the east coast of Australia and writes angst ridden love stories with a pinch of craziness, a dash of drama, a cup of romance, and a bucket load of sexiness. With five novels currently published, she is constantly writing and getting ready to release her next hero and heroine into the world. An avid reader, Rachel can often be found with her kindle in her hand, and getting lost in a happily ever after. She has an unhealthy obsession with The Walking Dead, and social media, and loves hearing from readers.

Sous-titre modele june 2019 latestposts.
Sous-titre modele june 2019 latest revie
Sous-titre modele june 2019 archives.png
Sous-titre modele june 2019 bookstagram.
bottom of page