top of page

Release Blitz + Review | The Moth and the Flame (When Rivals Play #2) by B.B. Reid --> 4 Stars


TMATF cover

TITLE: The Moth and the Flame

SERIES: When Rivals Play #2

AUTHOR: B.B. Reid

GENRE: Contemporary Romance

RELEASE DATE: May 20th, 2019

THE FLAME

Here lies Louchana Valentine. She was a homeless, orphaned virgin.

I never cared what my gravestone would say until I landed in deep with a powerful gangster. Lucky for me, my best friend happens to be ruthless too. I should feel guilty that he’s forced to turn on the man who’s been a father to him. Except I’ve always known that Wren’s soul wasn’t as black as he claimed.

He was good.

He was beautiful.

He was mine.

He just didn’t know it yet.

And with Wren keeping me safe, I’ve got time left to rewrite the end of my story. But if he has his way, virgin is already carved in stone.

THE MOTH

I’ve never known anyone as alluring as Lou. Or as frustrating. Since the night she saved my life and stole my wallet for her troubles, I couldn’t stay away.

She became my onus.

My light.

My…anyway.

With nowhere to run, I’m forced to trust someone I never expected. At least with Lou safe in Blackwood Keep—far away from me—I’ll die with my conscience intact. Because she no longer looks at me with friendship in her eyes. Those iridescent blues shine with a different need entirely, and I’ve never been able to deny her.

** It is strongly advised that you read The Peer and the Puppet before diving into The Moth and the Flame. Content suitable for ages 18+ **

FREE in Kindle Unlimited

⭐️ 4 "What's Mine Is Mine Forever" Stars ⭐️

The Moth and the Flame was one of my most anticipated release this year and I really enjoyed it. I loved Wren and Lou from the start with their easy banter and great chemistry. That being said, I felt the first part of this book was so slow that I easily lost focus. The purpose of the first half was mostly to get to know the characters better and they dynamic and could have been shorter in my opinion.

"He could have been my white knight, but his armor didn't shine. It was shrouded in darkness, and it was only a matter of time before it swallowed him whole."

The second part was absolutely riveting! The suspense is there when there's treats on Lou’s life and Wren is trying to protect her. Their intense slow burn romance was killing me! The sparks flying whenever they are together had me dying for them to finally happen. The push and pull is powerful and charged with sexual attraction. They’re just perfect for each other. The development of their relationship was so amazing to witness.

Wren is really a bad boy with a heart of gold. He would do anything for his best friend, even denying his real feelings for her. He's so protective and possessive of Lou, but the girl is not in the least intimidated by Wren and his attitude. She's badass when needed, but also shows moments of vulnerability too that made her genuine!

Another aspect I loved more than anything about this book is when Wren and Lou finally arrived in Blackwood Keep. I was so happy to see Four, Ever, Jamie, Tyra, Vaughn and Barbie again. All the mystery about their pasts is more connected than they could ever have thought. It made the unveiling of each secret so much more startling!

"You give me one taste, and I'm an addict. You allow me one touch, and I'm yours. You're very cruel, Louchana Valentine."

The Moth and Flame was a very good book, but I feel it would have had greater impact on me if it had been a little shorter. I still had a good time reading this story and I’m so excited for the next book in the When Rivals Play Series. These characters and the suspense with The Exiled is absolutely thrilling and I want more of it!

** ARC received in exchange for an honest review **

WHEN RIVALS PLAY SERIES

Book #1

The Peer and the Puppet

TPATP cover

Only 99 cents for a limited time

FREE in Kindle Unlimited

B.B. REID

B.B. Reid is a bestselling author of new adult romance. She grew up the only daughter and middle child in a small town in North Carolina. After graduating with a Bachelors in Finance, she started her career at an investment research firm while continuing to serve in the National Guard. She currently resides in Charlotte with her moody cat and enjoys collecting Chuck Taylors and binge-eating chocolate.

Sous-titre modele june 2019 latestposts.
Sous-titre modele june 2019 latest revie
Sous-titre modele june 2019 archives.png
Sous-titre modele june 2019 bookstagram.
bottom of page