top of page

Review: Ripped (Real #5) by Katy Evans --> 3 Stars!


Ripped Cover

TITLE: Ripped

SERIES: Real #5 AUTHOR: Katy Evans GENRES: Contemporary Romance

RELEASE DATE: December 9th, 2014

A ripped rock star with attitude.

An ex-girlfriend with a reckless plan.

Pandora assumed getting her heart broken by her bad boy ex could only happen once--until Mackenna Jones comes back to town for the biggest concert of his career. They say girls are getting pregnant just thinking about the Crack Bikini tour and it's destined to be a huge hit.

Oh, it'll be a hit alright--when Pandora comes out swinging. She and her friend Melanie are determined to humiliate him onstage. But when they're caught by security and her ex is summoned, Mackenna decides not to press charges if she'll join him on tour and follow certain conditions--rules designed to give him the upper hand and keep her in close contact with him once again. Soon, the passion they once shared is reignited, and no matter how much Pandora wants to hate him, her hard exterior starts to crack. And worse: Mackenna knows it, too. But he hasn't uncovered all her secrets...

As a fan of second chance romance and rockstar romance, I was really enthusiastic about this book. Pandora was a character I really enjoyed in the previous books of the Real Series with her cynical attitude. I couldn’t wait to discover what and who made her so bitter about love. Sadly, I must admit that Ripped wasn’t exactly what I expected and I’m a little disappointed with it.

I felt there were too many little things that bugged me in the book to make a great impression with me. Some parts were a little absurd and I didn’t feel like this story was really part of the Real series. For me it was too different and not enough interaction with our lovely Brooke, Remy, Melanie, Grayson and company. My biggest criticism is all the drama that could have been avoided with communication between Pandora and MacKenna right when they meet again. So the whole purpose of the story didn’t really make sense for me.

I had difficulty connecting with the story at first, but around the half way point it got better. One thing I respected and was well done was the connection between Pandora and MacKenna. Katy Evans always achieves to create potent chemistry between her heroes and heroines and those two didn’t lack on that aspect. Lust, passion and heartbreak are undeniably a huge part of their turbulent story.

In retrospective, this story didn’t have all the elements to sold me, but I still enjoyed some part of it. The storytelling was good, but the best part was the connection between the main couple.

THE REAL SERIES

Book #1

Real

Real Cover
 

Book #2

Mine

Mine Cover
 

Book #3

Remy --> REVIEW

Remy cover
 

Book #4

Rogue --> REVIEW

Rogue Cover
 

Book #6

Legend

Legend Cover
 

Book #7

Racer

Releases August 7th, 2017

Racer Cover

Katy Evans is a New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal bestselling author. Her debut REAL shot to the top of the bestselling lists in 2013 and since then 9 of her titles have been New York Times bestsellers. Her books have been translated into nearly a dozen languages across the world.

Sous-titre modele june 2019 latestposts.
Sous-titre modele june 2019 latest revie
Sous-titre modele june 2019 archives.png
Sous-titre modele june 2019 bookstagram.
bottom of page