top of page

Review: Crown of Lies (Truth and Lies Duet #1) by Pepper Winters

Crown of Lies Cover

TITLE: Crown of Lies

SERIES: Truth and Lies Duet #1

AUTHOR: Pepper Winters

GENRE: Contemporary Romance

RELEASE DATE: January 31st, 2017

THREE YEARS Since I ran away for the night, danced in New York streets, and almost got killed in an alley by two thieves. Until he showed up and saved me. THREE DAYS Since I threw a drink at the man my father expected me to marry, then found myself slammed against a wall with Penn Everett’s seductive voice whispering a proposal I couldn’t refuse. THREE HOURS To fall into hate with the man who reminded me of so many things and hid so much behind his lies. He couldn’t be the man who saved me three years ago…but there’s something so familiar… THREE MINUTES For our relationship to switch from no-strings to marriage. He announced it to my father—he’s ecstatic. He told my friends—they’re shocked. But he didn’t ask me, he commanded me—and I’m livid. THREE SECONDS For his lies to slowly steal my heart and make me believe, hope…trust. THREE BREATHS For his truth to destroy me.

One thing that never cease to amaze me about Pepper Winters is her mesmerizing prose. Add to it the passion and electricity sparking between her hero and heroine, and you feel it through your bones. What she managed to do with Crown of Lies is pure BRILLIANCE. I’m still in a Penn Everett coma after this roller-coaster ride of suspense tangled with secrets, lies, puzzles and scorching hot intensity.

Seriously this man takes the crown of liars and manipulator. Manipulator of truth, body, emotions. When I was first introduced to him, it’s like his presence sucked all my attention to him with his dominance and arrogance. There was so much hotness in this book, and while I’m fangirling over Penn, let’s not forget Elle our fiesty heroine. At first she came out as a lonely prisoner of her family empire, without a backbone. But I was so wrong? She has fierceness inside her that was just simmering on the surface and Penn helped her unleashed. Let’s just say that their first meeting, where Penn is introduced, is absolutely EPIC.

I loved this book something fierce! The beautiful words Pepper Winters woven together snatched a piece of my heart and enthralled me. I spent the whole story trying to disentangled this amazing puzzle she brought with all these lies, to end up at the beginning. I don’t know what to think anymore. As it was expected, she played her own tricks and left this tale on an jaw dropping cliffhanger. It’s a chance I waited for Throne of Truth to release before reading, because I would be so upset right now. Praises to Pepper Winters’s genius writing and storytelling!

THE TRUTH AND LIES DUET

Throne of Truth --> REVIEW

Book #2

Pepper Winters wears many roles. Some of them include writer, reader, sometimes wife. She loves dark, taboo stories that twist with your head. The more tortured the hero, the better, and she constantly thinks up ways to break and fix her characters. Oh, and sex... her books have sex.

She loves to travel and has an amazing, fabulous hubby who puts up with her love affair with her book boyfriends.

 
Sous-titre modele june 2019 latestposts.
Sous-titre modele june 2019 latest revie
Sous-titre modele june 2019 archives.png
Sous-titre modele june 2019 bookstagram.
bottom of page