top of page

Blog Tour + Review | The Beginning of Us (Complicated Us Trilogy #1) by Lylah James → 4.5 Stars


TITLE: The Beginning of Us

SERIES: Complicated Us Trilogy #1

AUTHOR: Lylah James

GENRE: New Adult Romance

TROPE: Love Triangle RELEASE DATE: October 17th, 2022

There’s something special about first love. It feels right; it looks right. It’s perfect in every way, until it isn’t.


Grayson Hale — the hot nerd, my first love. He was an enigma. Both mysteriously complicated and beautifully broken. The vacant look in his eyes reminded me of my own, almost as if our misery called to one another.


Colton Bennett — the sarcastic playboy, my second chance. He was a perfect facade. Rich, devastatingly beautiful…and everything that I should have stayed away from. His obsession led to my carefully laid plans crumbling at my feet.


And me? I was the fallen princess. I had given up on finding my soulmate a long time ago, but now they are both in my life. I’m torn between my truth and my lies — but I have to make a choice.


The thing about loving two men is that you know it will always end...


Grayson was my tragedy.

Colton was my heartbreak.



⭐️ 4.5 Stars ⭐️

The Beginning of Us was a long awaited story that I was so excited to dive into. After meeting Riley, Grayson and Colton in the Truth And Dare Duet, I needed to know their own stories. I was a little scared to start this book, because honestly I'm not a fan of love triangle. But with this first novel in the Complicated Us Trilogy, Lylah James made me fall in love with the three main characters. This book was all about discovering each of these protagonists at their core and it truly broke me the level of suffering they each lived through.


I must say I was always team #RileyColton, maybe because I love a good enemies to lovers romance and Grayson was somewhat a mystery to me before this present book. The Beginning of Us was exactly what I needed to better understand all three of them and their intricate relationships.


All three of them were raised with a lacking support system and a indifferent family. It was so sad to witness their helplessness at times faced with traumatizing events and left to themselves. It only led them to deal with their pain in different ways. I don't know how many times I cried my eyed out over the tsunami of feelings they brought to me. Riley's past wasn't happy, neither was Grayson and Colton's.


Riley's relationship with Grayson was truly beautiful. She slowly healed under his care, attention and love. The guy was so sweet and dedicated to his girl. She felt seen for the first time in her life. They were truly a lovely couple. But then, there was Colton. He was cocky and cruel in his actions and words with Riley at times, that I was so mad at him. But knowing about his upbringing made me realize that his harsh ways were only a copying mechanism for him. It was interesting to see him changing and being so thoughtful and respectful of Riley after her breakup with Grayson. He wasn't the same guy she knew in high school; he was definitely real. I truly loved the fire between them!


That ending was sudden and left me with even more questions. This series isn't about who will end up with who anymore for me, but ultimately for Riley, Grayson and Colton to heal and be happy. I seriously loved this book so much from all the whirlwind of feelings it gave me. Lylah James knows how to captured your complete attention that's for sure! I hope the next book, It's Always Been You, will release soon because I need more of these three.


** ARC received in exchange for an honest review **


Lylah James lives somewhere in Canada. She is usually pretty busy but she uses all her spare time to write. If she is not studying, sleeping, writing or working – she can be found with her nose buried in a good romance book, preferably with a hot alpha male.

Writing is her passion. The voices in her head won’t stop and she believes they deserve to be heard and read. Lylah James writes about drool worthy and total alpha males, with strong and sweet heroines. She makes her readers cry – sob their eyes out, swoon, curse, rage and fall in love. Mostly known as the Queen of cliffhanger and the #evilauthorwithablacksoul, she likes to break her readers’ hearts and then mend them again.

Sous-titre modele june 2019 latestposts.
Sous-titre modele june 2019 latest revie
Sous-titre modele june 2019 archives.png
Sous-titre modele june 2019 bookstagram.
bottom of page