top of page

Audiobook Review | If You Were Mine (After We Fall #3) by Melanie Harlow --> 4 Stars


After We Fall Cover

TITLE: If You Were Mine

SERIES: When We Fall #3

AUTHOR: Melanie Harlow

GENRE: Contemporary Romance

RELEASE DATE: February 28th, 2017

AUDIO RELEASE DATE: April 25th, 2017

Theo MacLeod wasn’t supposed to be the one.


Tall, dark and handsome suits me just fine, but the cocky grin, know-it-all attitude, and mammoth ego? No thanks. I only hired him so I wouldn’t have to sit at the singles table again. It was just pretend.


He wasn’t supposed to kiss me.


My heart wasn’t supposed to pound.


We weren’t supposed to spend the night together—the hottest night of my life.


One night turns into a snowed-in weekend away, and even the blizzard of the century can’t cool the fire between us. I can’t get enough—of his smile, of his body, of the way he makes me feel.


We’re nothing alike. He’s a daredevil, and I’m a nervous Nellie. He’s a drifter, and I want to put down roots. He’s an opportunist with a checkered past, and I’m a Girl Scout volunteer.


But none of it matters when I’m in his arms.


I know he’s made mistakes. I know his wounds are deep, and he doesn’t trust easily. I know he doesn’t believe he could ever be enough to make me happy, but he could.


All he has to do is stay.

⭐️ 4 "As You Wish" Stars ⭐️

If You Were Mine was only my second read (audiobook) by Melanie Harlow. I just can't believe I haven't read more of her novels, because this story was amazing. I first read After We Fall a couple years ago and really enjoyed it so when I was looking for an new audiobook, I decided to dive back into this series of interconnected books. This romance was gorgeous, sweet and sexy.


Claire and Theo's chemistry was off the charts hot. I enjoyed how they're so different on the surface, but also really similars where it counts. Theo didn't have an easy life growing up. He made mistakes, but tries to better himself. It's sad how he doesn't feel worthy of Claire, because he treats her so beautifully. He's caring and so charming! Their powerful attraction leads to some scorching hot moments of passion. They connect so effortlessly! Claire has dreams, but she doubts herself on a lot of things. Spending times with Theo only makes her realize that she's settling for less than what she really wants. Seriously, those two are so perfect for each other they made me giddy!


The narration was amazing to listen to. The narrators embodied the characters so well with all the right intonations and emotions. I'll admit that I had a rough start with connecting with Theo's voice, but I gradually felt it fitted him. As I previously mentioned, this is a standalone book part of of a series, but I feel we didn't see a lot of the cast from the previous novels, so it's easy to dive into this story and not feel too lost.


If You Were Mine was a great surprise and made me want to read more Melanie Harlow's backlist novels!


USA Today bestselling author Melanie Harlow likes her martinis dry, her heels high, and her history with the naughty bits left in. If she's not writing or reading, she's probably driving someone to the dance studio or laughing at bad lip reading videos. She occasionally runs three miles, but only so she can have more gin and steak.


Melanie is the author of contemporary romance that's equal parts sexy and sweet. She lifts her glass to readers from her home near Detroit, MI, where she lives with her husband, two daughters, and pet rabbit.


She is represented by Rebecca Friedman of Friedman Literary.


Sous-titre modele june 2019 latestposts.
Sous-titre modele june 2019 latest revie
Sous-titre modele june 2019 archives.png
Sous-titre modele june 2019 bookstagram.
bottom of page