top of page

Review Blitz | Keeping You Away (Tyler & Gemma Duet #1) by Kennedy Fox --> 4.5 Stars


TITLE: Keeping You Away

SERIES: Tyler & Gemma Duet #1 AUTHOR: Kennedy Fox

GENRE: Contemporary Romance

RELEASE DATE: July 16th, 2020

always yours cover

I never planned on returning to Alabama, but circumstances brought me here after years of being gone. Though Lawton Ridge is my hometown, I was hesitant to go back because of her —my sister’s best friend. The last time we were together, she was eighteen, and I was a broken soldier transitioning to civilian life.

Gemma wrote to me while I was overseas and we developed a bond I hadn’t anticipated. I crushed her heart the day I left, and it’s something I’ve never forgotten. But now that her dad is my new boss, life just got way more complicated. Too sweet, too innocent, too good for a guy like me—I should walk away again.

After serving five years in prison for something I didn’t do, I’m constantly on guard. Though I’ve taught people how to protect themselves in a boxing ring, no one can help prepare me for my next move. I’m about to enter the fight of my life and face the mafia princess who put me behind bars. She thinks I fear her and will stay away, but she has another thing coming. I plan to make her pay, but that means risking everything.

I trust no one, but Gemma gradually breaks down my walls and exposes the pain I’ve hidden underneath. For her own sake, I should keep my distance, but it’s nearly impossible when I hear her sweet humming while I work and she slowly draws me back in. It’s a battle I didn’t train for, and one I’ll lose if I don’t keep my restraint—especially since she’s engaged to another man. ** Keeping You Away is a slow-burn, angsty romance wrapped up in an intense love story.

It’s book 1 in the Tyler & Gemma duet & must be read first **

⭐️ 4.5 "Sweet Home Alabama" Stars ⭐️

It's not a secret that I'm a huge fan of Kennedy Fox. I've read all their books and since meeting Tyler Blackwood in Always Yours, I just couldn’t wait to get my hands on his story. His beautiful friendship with Liam and Maddie was so amazing. I felt he was such a great guy and I wanted for him to find his own happily ever after. Kennedy Fox strikes again with Keeping You Away which is such a lovely second chance romance that had me delighted all read long. Tyler is back in his small town of Alabama after twelve years away, but most importantly after five years in prison. He’s a changed man, more reserved and searching himself. He’s also back where his first and only love, Gemma, still lives. It’s clear from the start that there’s some repressed feelings between them; every single interaction between them charged with electricity. But the woman is now engaged and off-limits. Robert is certainly not the man for Gemma as I felt the way he acted with her was just manipulative and I wanted her to open up her eyes to his jerk ways. Even if she has a fiancé, Gemma starts to have doubts about her relationship with him and Tyler being back certainly makes her even more conflicted. She still feels the pull toward each other that is undeniable.

The scenes between Gemma and Tyler are filled with amazing banter, provocation and tension! I lived for every single moment shared between those two. I felt there wasn’t enough scenes between them though. I was greedy for more time with this pair, but I still loved the slow burn and where it’s going for the next installment. As always with Kennedy Fox, the supporting characters made this read even more alluring. Everleigh, Tyler’s little sister and Gemma's best friend, has such a lively and interesting personality that I particularly enjoyed. She's supportive and also a little conniving toward Tyler and Gemma's relationship, but she also reminded me so much of Maddie. Liam and Maddie also make some appearances throughout the book which lead to hilarious, but also so beautiful moments. I love the special bond the three of them have. The ending was a cliffhanger I kind of saw coming, but I really need to see how it all plays out in Needing You Close. The conclusion of the Tyler & Gemma Duet will assuredly bring its lot of action and twists. Thankfully, we don't have long to wait for the continuation of this duet!

** ARC received in exchange for an honest review**

THE TYLER AND GEMMA DUET

Book #2

Needing You Close

Releases August 12th, 2020

needing you close cover

Brooke Cumberland & Lyra Parish are a duo of romance authors who teamed up under the USA Today Bestselling pseudonym, Kennedy Fox who share a love of You’ve Got Mail and The Holiday. When they aren’t bonding over romantic comedies, they like to brainstorm new book ideas. One day, they decided to collaborate and have some fun creating new characters that’ll make your lady bits tingle and your heart melt. If you enjoy romance stories with sexy, tattooed alpha males and smart, independent women, then a Kennedy Fox book is for you!

Sous-titre modele june 2019 latestposts.
Sous-titre modele june 2019 latest revie
Sous-titre modele june 2019 archives.png
Sous-titre modele june 2019 bookstagram.
bottom of page