top of page

Review | The Mafia and his Obsession Part 1 (Tainted Hearts #4) by Lylah James --> 4.5 Stars!


TMAHO part 1 cover

TITLE: The Mafia and his Obsession Part 1

SERIES: Tainted Hearts #4

AUTHOR: Lylah James

GENRE: Mafia Romance RELEASE DATE: July 24th, 2018

My life only has one purpose, and it's to protect them—my family. Whether I fight, maim, or kill the enemy, it makes no difference to me. If have to take a bullet for my family, I would embrace death with a goddamn smile on my face. When their safety is compromised, I put my life on the line and made a deal with the devil. I never questioned it, not even once... ...Until her. All it takes is one glance. With her pretty eyes now imprinted on my soul, the foundation my life has been built on is shifting. My loyalty has become hazy, and my life has a new meaning. There's a pull between us that's undeniable, and a carnal desire that threatens to ruin us both. It has turned me into a man obsessed. My perfect, well-planned life is now in chaos, and a choice needs to be made. My family…or my obsession?

⭐️ 4.5 "Silent Mishka" Stars ⭐️

Holy shit! The Mafia and his Obsession Part 1 started on a bang! I wasn’t prepared for this shocker right at the beginning and seriously didn’t know what to think! Needless to say that this intense start only kept getting more electrifying and this book was another page turner! Lylah James continued her consuming mafia series with a new main couple, but got all of the Ivanshovs invested in this fascinating journey. This time around, Viktor is the hero of the story and I just loved the guy. In the previous trilogy, he was always the jokester, cracking me up with his crude yet comic repartees but now he faces a hard challenge that unveils new facets of him. I enjoyed discovering what made his heart and soul bleed. He lives for his family, so it’s cruel to see him struggle playing a game for this highly important mission. His unrequited feelings for Ayla at the beginning had me in tears. It’s clear that he’s more vulnerable than what he shows under his mafioso front. Watching him develop a certain fascination for Valerie was beautiful. His little "myshka" brought a protective and softer side of him so alluring. Valerie didn’t have an easy path. As Valentin Solonik’s captive wife, she’s been enduring atrocious abuses for years. Despite these brutal treatments, she’s still strong and hopeful. She’s not that broken! Meeting Viktor brings her a little light in her dark and silent world. Her disability added a poignant twist to the storyline. I will admit that I didn’t connect right away with this couple though. Maybe because I felt their relationship started too strong and too rapidly, without enough interactions prior. Anyway, I eventually rooted for their happily ever after. They certainly bring the heat with scorching hot encounters, but also a lot of heartbreak with their forbidden romance with a hopeless future. As it was the case with the earlier novels, some of the chapters of this book are written in other characters’ point of view which I absolutely adored! It made me fall in love with the whole Ivanshov family even more and I truly loved their whole dynamic. This story was so good with the suspense and bombshells dropped here and there. It made this read utterly compelling! Viktor’s duplicity isn’t done and I need to see him complete his assignment as the winner. The Mafia and his Obsession Part 2, here I come!!!

TAINTED HEARTS SERIES

Book #1

The Mafia and his Angel Part 1

the mafia and his angel part 2 cover
 

Book #2

The Mafia and his Angel Part 2

the mafia and his angel part 2 cover
 

Book #3

The Mafia and his Angel Part 3

the mafia and his angel part 3 cover
 

Book #3.5

Blood and Roses

blood and roses cover
 

Book #5

The Mafia and his Obsession Part 2

the mafia and his obsession part 2 cover

LYLAH JAMES

Lylah James lives somewhere in Canada. She is usually pretty busy but she uses all her spare time to write. If she is not studying, sleeping, writing or working – she can be found with her nose buried in a good romance book, preferably with a hot alpha male.

Writing is her passion. The voices in her head won’t stop and she believes they deserve to be heard and read. Lylah James writes about drool worthy and total alpha males, with strong and sweet heroines. She makes her readers cry – sob their eyes out, swoon, curse, rage and fall in love. Mostly known as the Queen of cliffhanger and the #evilauthorwithablacksoul, she likes to break her readers’ hearts and then mend them again.

Sous-titre modele june 2019 latestposts.
Sous-titre modele june 2019 latest revie
Sous-titre modele june 2019 archives.png
Sous-titre modele june 2019 bookstagram.
bottom of page