top of page

Release + Review | Hard Place (Hard to Love #1) by Emily Goodwin --> 5 Stars


Hard Place, an all-new standalone enemies to lovers/office romance by Emily Goodwin is LIVE!

hard place cover

TITLE: Hard Place

SERIES: Hard to Love #1 AUTHOR: Emily Goodwin

GENRE: Contemporary Romance

RELEASE DATE: September 12th, 2019

Cold. Callous. Cocky.

A total playboy with abs for days, a panty-melting smirk, and a face the gods themselves would be jealous of.

And he’s my new boss.

None of that matters, because as a single mom, men like Alexander Harding are the last thing I need. What I do need is this job, so I’m going to keep my head down, work hard, and avoid that asshole as much as humanly possible.

But then he gives me an offer I can’t refuse, even though everything inside of me is warning me to run away and never look back. It’s just one weekend. One weekend to convince a bunch of stuffy investors that Alexander has changed from the player who spent more time in the bedroom than the boardroom into a family man they’d be happy to go into business with.

But the more time I spend with him, the more I realize that there might be a beating heart buried under his designer shirts and spectacular pecs after all…which is bad news for me.

Because the only thing worse than hating your boss is falling in love with him.

FREE in Kindle Unlimited

⭐️ 5 "Make Lemonade" Stars ⭐️

As a fan of the enemies to lovers and office romance tropes, I was so excited about Hard Place! It promised everything I’m fond about in those types of stories; the humour, sweet moments and the definite chemistry between Harper and Alex made this read totally gripping! Emily Goodwin shows once again why she’s one of my go-to author in contemporary romance with this charming story!

Harper is a truly engaging heroine that enjoyed a lot with her sweet and quirky personality. She’s so genuine and when she’s nervous and word vomits, it’s hilarious. Those moments definitely made me crack up a lot! She would do anything for her twin girls and when she lands herself a promotion at work, it’s a chance to better their lives! Little Violet and Penny are a dynamic duo that doesn’t make being a single mom always easy, but they’re so precious and provide lovely scenes that put a big smile on my face!

Alex is also an interesting hero. That man hides behind a player façade, but inside he just feels like something real is missing from his life. It’s truly poignant to see him being so attracted to Harper, but repressing his growing feelings because he doesn’t believe in love and he’s her new boss. He’s so tempting with his beautiful personality when you get to know the real man behind the jerk!

The attraction between Alex and Harper is so palpable and every moment they share is mesmerizing. The animosity at first, transforming into understanding and shared jokes is perfect. I must say that the slow burn in this book nearly killed me. I so wanted them to finally take the plunge into something romantic and the anticipation was excruciating, but so worth it!

I adored Hard Place! I constantly had a grin on my face from all the swoony scenes and comic ones. I finished this book with my heart so full of emotions of all kind! I need book two, Hard Truth ASAP!!!

** ARC received in exchange for an honest review **

EMILY GOODWIN

Emily Goodwin is the New York Times and USA Today Bestselling author of over a dozen of romantic titles. Emily writes the kind of books she likes to read, and is a sucker for a swoon-worthy bad boy and happily ever afters.

She lives in the midwest with her husband and two daughters. When she’s not writing, you can find her riding her horses, hiking, reading, or drinking wine with friends.

Emily is represented by Julie Gwinn of the Seymour Agency.

Sous-titre modele june 2019 latestposts.
Sous-titre modele june 2019 latest revie
Sous-titre modele june 2019 archives.png
Sous-titre modele june 2019 bookstagram.
bottom of page