top of page

Review | Broken Knight (All Saints High #2) by L.J. Shen --> 3.5 Stars


The Kiss Thief Cover

TITLE: Broken Knight

SERIES: All Saints High #2 AUTHOR: L.J. Shen

GENRE: New Adult

RELEASE DATE: August 25th, 2019

Luna Rexroth is everyone’s favorite wallflower.

Sweet.

Caring.

Charitable.

Quiet.

Fake.

See, under the meek, tomboy exterior everyone loves yet pities is a girl who knows exactly what – and who – she wants.

Namely, the boy from the treehouse, who taught her how to curse in sign language.

Who taught her how to laugh.

To live.

To love.

Knight Cole is everyone’s favorite football hero.

Gorgeous.

Athletic.

Jagged.

Popular.

Liar.

See, the daredevil hellraiser could knock you up with his gaze alone, but only has eyes for the girl across the street.

But Luna is not who she used to be. She doesn’t need his protection anymore.

When life throws a curveball at All Saints’ golden boy, he is forced to realize that not all heroes are knights.

Sometimes, the greatest love stories could flourish amidst the worst tragedies.

FREE in Kindle Unlimited

⭐️ 3.5 "Ride or Die" Stars ⭐️

I don’t really know how to start with this review. I’m still conflicted about my feelings on this book! It’s not a surprise that Broken Knight was at the top of my TBR list for the summer and while I enjoyed the story, I didn’t completely love it. It was so different than what I was expecting; some parts so emotional and compelling, and others just dragging. My biggest critic is that I didn’t feel connected to Knight and Luna as a romantic couple! For a romance novel, it’s kind of the worst thing that can happened when I don’t feel the chemistry. It doesn’t mean that I didn’t enjoy their relationship as friends though.

My biggest disappointment being admitted, I’ll focus on the positive things about this novel. My favorite aspect of this story is the way both characters grow and learn from their mistakes. Neither Knight or Luna are perfect and they learn about love and life in the most heartbreaking ways at times! The emotional events happening in the pages of this story are utterly devastating and my heart broke for sweet, fragile Knight. Under his cocky attitude, he’s such a beautiful human being; so devoted for his only girl, Luna! I absolutely adored his level of loyalty even when their friendship turns to jealousy and manipulation.

Luna’s journey is also incredible! College is an experience to finally open up to the exterior world and find her voice. She’s fierce and strong and discover a lot about herself far away from her loved ones. She’s dependable and would do anything for her best friend even when there’s tension between them.

Broken Knight is a truly poignant story that made me cry, rage and swoon from all the feels! L.J. Shen used her unique writing style to give life to two beautiful souls! I know I'm in the minority that isn't completely satisfied with this story and I think it might be due to the fact I could only read little bits of the book here and there and it took me over a week to finish! Let's just say I was busy and it can be the reason I wasn't totally immersed into this novel!

Now, the man I’ve been wanting to read about is coming next and I couldn't be more excited about it. Yes, Vaughn’s story has me hyperventilating with eagerness! He's the son of Vicious (my favorite HotHole), so Angry God can only be a fantastic book!

THE ALL SAINT HIGH SERIES

Book #1

Pretty Reckless

FREE in Kindle Unlimited

L.J. SHEN

L.J. Shen is an International #1 best-selling author of Contemporary Romance and New Adult novels. She lives in Northern California with her husband, young son and chubby cat.

Before she’d settled down, L.J. (who thinks referring to herself in the third person is really silly, by the way) traveled the world, and collected friends from all across the globe. Friends who’d be happy to report that she is a rubbish companion, always forgets peoples’ birthdays and never sends Christmas cards.

She enjoys the simple things in life, like spending time with her family and friends, reading, HBO, Netflix and internet-stalking Stephen James. She reads between three to five books a week and firmly believes Crocs shoes and mullets should be outlawed.

Sous-titre modele june 2019 latestposts.
Sous-titre modele june 2019 latest revie
Sous-titre modele june 2019 archives.png
Sous-titre modele june 2019 bookstagram.
bottom of page