top of page

Review | Dirty Halo (Forbidden Royals Trilogy #1) by Julie Johnson --> 4 Stars


dirty halo cover

TITLE: Dirty Halo

SERIES: Forbidden Royals Trilogy #1 AUTHOR: Julie Johnson GENRE: Royalty Romance / Forbidden Romance

RELEASE DATE: February 4th, 2019

Emilia Lancaster is the royal family’s dirty little secret. Born the illegitimate daughter of a duke, for twenty years she’s lived as a commoner… despite the regal blood running through her veins. But when the entire royal family is killed in a deadly attack, the line of succession swiftly changes course. With her ailing father appointed king and no legitimate heirs in sight, Emilia is pulled from the shadows and thrust into a destiny she never wanted. If this were a fairy tale, the palace would be paradise. In reality, with a father she barely knows on the throne, a deadly assassin still on the loose, and enemies around every gilded corridor corner — the callous, captivating Lord Carter Thorne chief among them — it feels more like a prison to Emilia. One filled with unattainable expectations, unfamiliar customs, and undesirable suitors. They want her to behave like a good little girl. They want her to put on her glittering crown and keep her mouth shut. They’re about to be disappointed. She may have agreed to be their princess… But she’s no one’s puppet.

⭐️ 4 "Stay Bold" Stars ⭐️

When I first read the synopsis of Dirty Halo, I knew I needed this book in my life as it sounded quite intriguing so I added it to my TBR pile in hope of reading it soon. Now a few months later, with the last installment almost released, I felt it was more than time to dive into this story! This first installment in the Forbidden Royals Trilogy involves a feisty heroine and a hostile hero with lots of chemistry, a suspenseful plotline and flickers of humour.

"It’s almost absurd: after today, the whole world thinks I’m royalty. But I’m not a princess. I’m a pawn."

A terrible fire that killed the reigning King of Germania suddenly throws Emilia Lancaster into the public eyes as the new Crown Princess. She meets her estranged family and learns all the obligations a princess life requires. It’s not an easy feat for her to blend into this world of sophistication and duty when she’s so daring! Her personality is what captivated me the most about this read. She’s so spirited and doesn’t change just to please the noble etiquette. She stays genuine and it’s truly remarkable!

She forms an engaging friendship with her stepsister Chloe. This girl had me cracking up with all her antics. Her relationship with her stepbrother Carter is tumultuous to say the least, though. He’s the textbook rich player with an evident arrogance, but he can also show kindness. They clash together, but the desire is so tempting between them. They try to resist this forbidden pull and it brings some intense scenes of passionate abandon.

As much as I loved these two, it felt a little too insta-love to my taste! They have very few interactions and I wanted more romantic scenes to build their bond. Yet, I felt the sparks flying between them each time they shared stolen moments.

"A brush. A spark. A kiss. A wildfire. We are an inferno. A combustible, uncontrollable flame. With a hungry groan, his tongue spears into my mouth — teasing, tasting, consuming — and I can’t help the cry that tears from my throat."

The mystery behind the attack on the Royal family is omnipresent with different new threats added to the mix. These elements make you suspicious of everyone’s actions. Dirty Halo is a good start to the trilogy and I’m curious about the unraveling of the whole story! Julie Johnson’s beautiful writing style enchanted me and I want more of this regal universe!

THE FORBIDDEN ROYALS TRILOGY

Book #2

Torrid Throne

torrid throne cover
 

Book #3

Sordid Empire

Releases July 11th

sordid empire cover

JULIE JOHNSON

Sous-titre modele june 2019 latestposts.
Sous-titre modele june 2019 latest revie
Sous-titre modele june 2019 archives.png
Sous-titre modele june 2019 bookstagram.
bottom of page