top of page

Review | The Truth About Heartbreak by B. Celeste --> 4 Stars


TTAH cover

TITLE: The Truth About Heartbreak

AUTHOR: B. Celeste

GENRE: Forbidden Romance

RELEASE DATE: June 1st, 2019

I fell in love with him when I was thirteen years old. He was older, mysterious, and unattainable. The guy I could never touch. Then one night changed everything for us. But there was one huge problem. He belonged to her.

FREE in Kindle Unlimited

⭐️ 4 "Friendship" Stars ⭐️

Since the moment I saw the gorgeous cover and the blurb of The Truth About Heartbreak, I knew I needed to read this novel. As a fan of forbidden romance, I was really intrigued by this story! B. Celeste did a fantastic job delivering an overflow of feelings through the pages of this poignant love story!

"Stop crossing ocean for people who don't even jump over puddles for you."

When River is adopted by the James family at thirteen she not only gains parents, but a caring big brother in Oliver. Everett being Ollie’s best friend, he’s never too far and she forges a strong friendship with the boy too. He shows a protectiveness over her right away that got me swooning. He’s truly so sweet with her, knowing the harsh upbringing she had.

The story span over a decade where we see their relationship’s lines being blurred by new feelings. The fact Everett is in a relationship makes their romance forbidden and heartbreaking. It would be so easy for him to go for River, but Everett also has some trauma of the past making his decisions difficult to make. He’s definitely a man of his words and breaking a promise isn’t easy for him.

"Sometimes you meet that one person in your life who holds all of that love for you and then some."

I cherished River and Everett’s romance! Their relationship evolving through the years into something so strikingly significant and powerful. It’s my favorite aspect of the story; their friendship that’s so effortless right from the start and can only turn into a love so potent.

As I previously said, I loved this book. The reason I didn’t rate it higher has something to do with the pacing and the fact some of the most pivotal scenes are only vaguely described. I wanted to feel River and Everett’s passion when they unleash their forbidden feelings for each other and I was left a little disappointed with the way it was brought.

"Sometimes distance is hope in disguise."

Overall, the connection between River and Everett is what captivated me about this story. It’s utterly gorgeous, yet tragic. The prose is really beautiful and the supporting characters are so interesting and add another dimension to the book. Now, I’m more than excited about Ollie’s story, The Truth About Tomorrow. From the epilogues I know that one will be angsty and forbidden AF!!

B. CELESTE

B. Celeste is the alter ego of Barbara C. Doyle. Her obsession with forbidden romance enabled her to pave a path into a new world of love, sex, sin, and angst. Her debut novel is The Truth about Heartbreak.

Sous-titre modele june 2019 latestposts.
Sous-titre modele june 2019 latest revie
Sous-titre modele june 2019 archives.png
Sous-titre modele june 2019 bookstagram.
bottom of page