top of page

Blog Tour + Review + Excerpt | Concerto (North Security #2) by Skye Warren --> 4 Stars


"Intriguing, dark and flirting with taboo, this sexy read left me wanting more!" --Lynda Aicher, USA Today bestselling author

 

Concerto, the highly anticipated second book in the North Security Series from New York Times bestselling author Skye Warren, is available now!

concerto cover

TITLE: Concerto

SERIES: North Security #2 AUTHOR: Skye Warren GENRE: Contemporary Romance RELEASE DATE: May 14th, 2019

Samantha Brooks stands onstage as the curtain rises. Her dreams are coming true. She doesn’t know her nightmare is coming too. The spotlight lands on Samantha Brooks. Years of practice build to the opening night of a global tour. She plays her heart out, but there are darker forces underneath the stage. There are eyes watching from the wings. Liam North fights to keep her safe with every weapon he owns. She’s his greatest pride — and his greatest weakness. The danger comes from somewhere no one expected. Betrayal threatens to destroy everything he’s built. His business. His family. His life. When the curtain falls, only one of them will be left standing.

⭐️ 4 "Music Wonderland" Stars ⭐️

After the way I fell in love with Overture, the delicious slow burn forbidden romance that marks the start of the North Security series, I was highly anticipating the follow up book. Skye Warren, with her wonderful prose, brings passion and emotion into Concerto. She also raises the suspenseful vibe of a few degrees!

"The moment her lips touch mine I'm suffused with music, thousands of notes that she's played for me, a million heartbeats."

Samantha is not under the care of Liam anymore. She’s on her own on a concert tour. For the first time in six years, she’s free from his watchful eyes or at least for a while. Liam is still her fierce protector and having her away is difficult on him. He needs to be near the young woman and nobody can guard her as well as him. As much as he denied his feral attraction to her in the previous novel, now that the forbidden fruit has been tasted, it’s clear that his body and his head aren’t in sync. As much as he wants to resist his pupil, Samantha’s innocence and light is irresistible to him!

Their stolen moments are poignant, but also scorching hot! Samantha grows into a beautiful young woman knowing what she wants. She won’t be a puppet that can be manipulated and she shows it with assertiveness on several instances. It certainly clashes with Liam’s ever-present authority! That broken man isn’t often refused anything with his alphaness and commanding presence, but Samantha is his weakness.

Yes, Concerto was a pleasant read for me, however I preferred the first novel. It might be due to the fact Liam and Samantha’s relationship was all about anticipation in Overture and it made me so eager for more! Also, this present book had too many descriptive sequences about the concert in itself and I didn’t really care about that stuff. Otherwise, on the plot and characters aspects, this story was amazing!

"That's the irony of this concerto. The stage was both my freedom and my cage."

I can’t wait for Sonata to discover the future of these beloved characters and unveil the mystery about the threats planning over Samantha. I’m also intrigued about Josh and hope to get his own book or series! Concerto was a pleasing, exciting book that gave me a nice time!

** ARC received in exchange for an honest review **

One day I had been a man with a death wish—and the next I was responsible for a twelve-year-old girl. And then she grew up into a beautiful woman. At every turn she’s been a surprise.

I touch my fingers to her temple and stroke her cheek. “If there’s one thing I’ve learned in life it’s that everything will change. Don’t worry about your future. Do this because you love it, right now. Play. Compose. Perform. Sometimes all you have is right now.”

My hand trails down her jaw, until the backs of my fingers rest against her throat. Her vocal cords vibrate as she speaks. Ripples of pleasure and pain resound through my body.

“I’m not performing right now,” she whispers.

I have her tucked into the ivy, as deep as she can go. I’m blocking her with my body—keeping her within reach, keeping everyone else away. It’s the only way I’ve ever been able to breathe.

A knot forms in my throat. “What do you want?”

Right now. The words move between us like the cool night breeze.

It shouldn’t be possible for her to live up to the image in my head, the perfection that I’ve been imagining every goddamn night. Except it doesn’t even do her justice.

She’s living breathing perfection.

Somehow, I’m leaning close. Is it only me who wants this? Her breath brushes over my lips. What do you want? I asked her. “This,” she whispers, and then she closes the centimeters between us.

Four weeks. That’s how long I’ve been apart from her.

It might as well have been four years. A lifetime of silence. The moment her lips touch mine I’m suffused with music, thousands of notes that she’s played for me, a million heartbeats.

By the time she pulls back I’m breathing hard. I can run a marathon barely breaking a sweat. Being near this woman is enough to break my body into pieces.

THE NORTH SECURITY SERIES

Book #1

Overture

overture cover

SKYE WARREN

Skye Warren is the New York Times bestselling author of contemporary romance such as the Chicago Underground series. Her books have been featured in Jezebel, Buzzfeed, USA Today Happily Ever After, Glamour, and Elle Magazine. She makes her home in Texas with her loving family, two sweet dogs, and one evil cat.

Sous-titre modele june 2019 latestposts.
Sous-titre modele june 2019 latest revie
Sous-titre modele june 2019 archives.png
Sous-titre modele june 2019 bookstagram.
bottom of page