top of page

Blog Tour + Review + Excerpt | Side Hustle (Dawson Family #3) by Emily Goodwin --> 5 Stars


TITLE: Side Hustle

SERIES: Dawson Family #3 AUTHOR: Emily Goodwin

GENRE: Contemporary Romance

RELEASE DATE: December 6th, 2018

Side Hustle cover

When Scarlet Cooper takes a new job as a nanny, she assumes she’s going to work for the rich couple who hired her. But instead of pulling up to their million-dollar estate, she finds herself on the front porch of a humble farmhouse, looking into the eyes of dark and brooding single dad, Weston Dawson.

It’s bad enough that Weston doesn’t have a fortune to charm out of him, but he’s also a cop. After marrying his high school sweetheart only to have her up and leave weeks after their baby was born, Weston has sworn off women for life. All that matters now is taking care of his son, Jackson.

If anyone can break down the tough exterior of the former soldier, it’s Scarlet. But just when she’s close to getting exactly what she wants, she’s faced with a whole new challenge, which just might be the biggest con she’s ever pulled: pretending she doesn’t love him.

⭐️ 5 "Make A Wish" Stars ⭐️

I was already charmed by the Dawson family after reading Quinn and Archer’s duet, but with Side Hustle I developed an even stronger attachment to them. Emily Goodwin shows her genius with this heartfelt story I couldn’t put down. Not only the romance is gorgeous and passionate, but the fact Weston is a single dad and a cop drawn to the new nanny made it so more alluring.

"Sometimes you laugh so you don't cry."

"I think that's what I've been doing my whole life."

Scarlett didn’t have the best upbringing with her dysfunctional family leading her to make some questionable decisions over the years. When she’s hired as a nanny by the Dawsons, she doesn’t have the best intentions. She’s cynic and jaded from all the letdowns she suffered through and her self-worth so low. Living with Weston and little Jackson slowly makes her realize fundamental values she had lost with time. She protected her heart from the pain by putting walls around it, but these boys slowly by surely are breaking them one by one. Discovering her several layers was so interesting and her character development was so well done. I grew to understand her decisions better and respect her determination. She’s such a quirky, sweet and interesting heroine.

"You stop being afraid of the dark when you learn to make your own light."

Weston also suffered his fair share of disappointments and sorrows over the years. He lives for his son Jackson, sharing with him an endearing bond! Jackson, with his four-year-old innocence had me swooning from his overload of cuteness. His connection with Scarlett is lovely and his relationship with his dad remarkable.

"I used to think people like you only existed in fairytales."

By hiring Scarlett, Wes needs to learn to trust her with the most important person in his life. He also has to fight his intoxicating attraction to her which is not an easy feat.

Their romance is simply so perfect with the slow built of their feelings and the sparks soaring from every interaction. They not only have a physical compatibility, but the way they act together in every action is so effortless. The flirty and funny banters made me sigh in awe at their emotional intimacy.

"I wish I could see myself the way you see me."

You'd see how incredible you are."

I can’t forget to tell you about the whole Dawson family. They’re such a great group! Quinn is just so genuine and friendly with Scarlett. Logan is such an understanding and helpful brother while his twin Owen is the buffoon. Dean while more serious than the other siblings, still has his moments of teasing. The Dawson parents are also such a welcoming pair. It was nice diving back into their clan and see the love and support flowing through them.

"I came here with the intentions of taking from him,

and instead he took the one thing I lost years ago: my heart."

Side Hustle is a truly enjoyable story that contains a lot of feels, a fabulous couple, a sweet little dude, a protective and funny family and intensely hot scenes. Emily Goodwin unquestionably pleased me with her latest installment in the Dawson Family Series!

** ARC received in exchange for an honest review **

Compartmentalizing and not dealing with my feelings is my thing. My claim to fame. The only reason I’ve been able to get by this well for so long. My deck has always been stacked a few cards short, and in a dog-eat-dog world, I’ve never had the chance to stop and think about a better life. And I mean really think. Like muffins and bacon kind of thinking. Opening the oven, I grab a piece of bacon before making a pot of coffee. The smell of French roast fills the air, and something inside me relaxes. “Morning,” Wes says when he comes into the kitchen. He’s dressed in his uniform and he looks so good I don’t think I’d be surprised if someone started playing Hot in Here and he started taking off all his clothes in a private strip show just for me. I’d grab the bacon, sit back, and watch. “Morning,” I say back, going to the cabinet to get him a coffee cup. Assuming he’ll have his coffee the same way he did yesterday, I fill the cup and add just a little bit of cream and sugar. “Do you want eggs? I was just about to make some.” Wes’s brows move together, and he looks around the kitchen as if I finger-painted the furniture, not made him breakfast. “Sure.” “Okay. Have a seat, it’ll only take a few minutes.” I already preheated the pan. With my back to him, I focus on the eggs, doing my best not to turn around and make small talk, because I know if I look into Weston’s dark eyes, there’s a good chance I’ll turn into a pile of goo on the floor. And then who’s going to finish making breakfast? “You didn’t have to do all this,” Weston says in a level tone. “We usually eat cereal or Pop Tarts in the morning.” “I was up, and that’s the kind of thing I usually eat too. Something hot for breakfast sounded nice.” I turn down the burner and risk a look back at Weston. He’s pulled his hair away from his face and is leaning back in the kitchen chair. He looks right at me and something burns behind his stormy eyes. “Yeah, a hot breakfast is nice every now and then.” He’s literally agreeing with words I just spoke, yet I’m feeling flush like he’s filling every syllable with a secret innuendo. And dammit—I want him to. And now there’s no denying that Weston Dawson has done the impossible: gotten under my skin and is weaseling his way into that dark cavity in my chest that some call a heart. [if !supportLineBreakNewLine]

EMILY GOODWIN

Emily Goodwin is the New York Times and USA Today Bestselling author of over a dozen of romantic titles. Emily writes the kind of books she likes to read, and is a sucker for a swoon-worthy bad boy and happily ever afters.

She lives in the midwest with her husband and two daughters. When she’s not writing, you can find her riding her horses, hiking, reading, or drinking wine with friends.

Emily is represented by Julie Gwinn of the Seymour Agency.

Sous-titre modele june 2019 latestposts.
Sous-titre modele june 2019 latest revie
Sous-titre modele june 2019 archives.png
Sous-titre modele june 2019 bookstagram.
bottom of page