top of page

Review | Throne of Lies / Legacy of Lies (Legacy of Lies Duet) by Tara Leigh --> 4 Stars


TITLES: Throne of Lies / Legacy of Lies

SERIES: Legacy of Lies #0.5-#1

AUTHOR: Tara Leigh

GENRE: Contemporary Romance

RELEASE DATE: October 11th, 2018 / October 15th, 2018

THRONE OF LIES

I was called a prodigal son. A scion of Midas. I believed it. Why wouldn’t I? Everything my father touched turned to gold. The proof was all around me. Luxury cars. Elite schools. A billion-dollar business. Even my girlfriend, a Park Avenue Princess. I reigned from a throne of lies. My fall from grace . . . wasn’t graceful at all. The Prequel to Legacy of Lies

 

LEGACY OF LIES

Money. Status. Wealth. Power. I believed I was entitled to all of it. My legacy. Jolie Chapman. I thought I was entitled to her, too. My love. In a scandal that set our families against each other, I lost. My legacy. My love. Everything. I was heir to a throne built on lies, my crown forged from corruption. Stripped of everything I'd been raised to consider my birthright. Including my princess—who wasn’t mine, after all. I’ve spent the past decade rebuilding my life, on my own terms. Money. Status. Wealth. Power. They’ve been earned. Now I’ve returned to Manhattan for redemption, too. Jolie wasn’t supposed to be here. … And I wasn’t supposed to care. Screw me once, shame on you. Screw me twice— Who am I kidding? I don’t believe in second chances anymore.

THRONE OF LIES

FREE in Kindle Unlimited

 

LEGACY OF LIES

FREE in Kindle Unlimited

⭐️ 4 "Love and Tragedy" Stars ⭐️

Throne of Lies was my first read by Tara Leigh and I must say that I really enjoyed this novella. The prose was beautiful and the story interesting!

Jolie Chapman and Remington “Tripp” Montgomery live a privilege life in the Upper East Side, their fathers being partners at their own firm on Wall Street. When they meet for Jolie’s debutant ball, they connect right away. Their romance is sweet and kind of insta-love, but still pleasant to watch. They're so much more than spoiled rich kids and it shows in the way they treasure this new relationship! Their young love is beautiful, but the mistakes and manipulation of their parents ultimately bring heartache in their lives.

"Some love stories are just the first act of a tragedy."

This story was assuredly an exciting introduction to Jolie and Tripp’s forbidden love story and had wanting more of them!

⭐️ 4 "Web of Lies" Stars ⭐️

Legacy of Lies takes place ten years after the heartbreaking ending of Jolie and Tripp’s relationship. This story was stimulating and with each chapter I was stunned by the different revelations that triggered their separation. Jolie and Tripp certainly have a relationship paved with obstacles, but with these long overdue secrets of the past exposed, they finally have a chance to make their romance revive!

"Tripp was no gentle rainstorm. He was a category five hurricane.

A tsunami. The storm of the century."

While the storyline is interesting, I expected more angst between Jolie and Tripp for their reunion. While they’re angry and bitter, I didn’t feel it as much as I wanted. However, the twists and the suspense related to discovering the scheme behind their breakup kept me on edge and was well constructed. With these recent discoveries, they slowly heal together. They share a great connection that leads to some passionate scenes and others just so sweet. I was left a little disappointed with the ending that was too rushed for me. I anticipated more explanations that I didn’t really get.

"I want to believe the fire between us hasn't burned us both to ash. That we've been tempered by it, forged into steel."

Overall, Legacy of Lies was an interesting story that grow stronger with each chapter and captivated me. Tara Leigh surely has a gorgeous prose and a way with words. I’m undoubtedly looking forward for more of her books!

TARA LEIGH

Tara Leigh attended Washington University in St. Louis and Columbia Business School in New York, and worked on Wall Street and Main Street before “retiring” to become a wife and mother. When the people in her head became just as real as the people in her life, she decided to put their stories on paper. Tara currently lives in Fairfield County, Connecticut with her husband, children and fur-baby, Pixie.

Sous-titre modele june 2019 latestposts.
Sous-titre modele june 2019 latest revie
Sous-titre modele june 2019 archives.png
Sous-titre modele june 2019 bookstagram.
bottom of page