top of page

Blog Tour + Review | Break by Cassia Leo --> 3 Stars


Lead Me Home Cover

TITLE: Break AUTHOR: Cassia Leo GENRE: Contemporary Romance

RELEASE DATE: July 26th, 2018

Break Cover

My brother’s best friend. The bad boy next door. My sworn enemy…

Now he’s back to claim what’s his.

For most of my life, Ben Hayes was the gorgeous bad boy musician next door. My brother’s heart throb best friend.

Then, he was my boyfriend for six of the happiest years of my life. Until he dumped me on social media in front of millions of people, officially cementing his role as my worst enemy.

Three years later, Ben returns to our small beach town with an ego the size of California, a drinking problem, a movie deal that’s about to fall through, and a secret that only he and his dying father know.

I’m not the same pathetic girl I was when he broke my heart. I’m stronger now. I won’t let him break me again.

But it’s hard to resist those ocean-blue eyes, that sculpted, tattooed body, that smooth voice, that enormous… Well, you get the picture.

Every time he makes me laugh or swoon, my defenses fracture. The walls around my heart are crumbling fast. And Ben’s wrecking ball of a secret is about to deliver the final blow.

Break caught my attention right away with the interesting blurb. The fact that I hadn’t read a Cassia Leo book in a while made me really eager to reconnect with her writing. While this story was good, it didn’t reach my expectations. As a second chance romance, I was expecting more angst and feelings! I felt Charley forgives Ben’s mistakes too fast. I mean, come on! He broke up with her on his Instagram account making her looking like a fool! The reason for this breakup isn’t reveal until the very last few chapters and there isn’t any real action showed by Ben to explain why Charley’s anger vanishes so fast! The story wasn’t bad, but wasn’t amazing for me either. It’s difficult to enjoyed completely when you don’t connect with the characters and their relationship. Ben is cocky and the sexy innuendos he’s always ready to make had me grinning, but he felt like an jerk to me; always drinking and supposedly hurting from his three-year-old breakup with “the love of his life”. Charley looked like a doormat to me, diving straight into Ben’s arms. As a couple, sadly I didn’t felt the connection enough. My favorite moments were the one set in the past, showing the beginning of their romance. Overall, Break was a disappointment to me with all the little things that I didn’t like. There was too much of them to counteract for the moments I enjoyed! ** ARC received in exchange for an honest review **

CASSIA LEO

New York Times bestselling author Cassia Leo loves her coffee, chocolate, and margaritas with salt. When she’s not writing, she spends way too much time re-watching Game of Thrones and Sex and the City. When she’s not binge watching, she’s usually enjoying the Oregon rain with a hot cup of coffee and a book.

Sous-titre modele june 2019 latestposts.
Sous-titre modele june 2019 latest revie
Sous-titre modele june 2019 archives.png
Sous-titre modele june 2019 bookstagram.
bottom of page