top of page

Review | Absinthe of the Heart (Sins of the Heart #1) by Monica James --> 5+ Stars! Top Favorite!


Forgetting You, Remebering Me Cover

TITLE: Absinthe of the Heart

SERIES: Sin of the Heart #1 AUTHOR: Monica James GENRE: Contemporary Romance

RELEASE DATE: May 14th, 2018

Two households, unlike in dignity, in the City of Angels is where we lay our scene…

London Sinclair was the boy my mother warned me about for as long as I can remember. His name alone has brought my family nothing but shame and suffering, so it’s no surprise we’ve been sworn enemies since the first moment we met.

With his bedroom eyes and cocky smile, he has all the girls under his spell. I have one more year of school left, and then I’m home free because I’m guarding a secret, one I’m ashamed to keep.

The boy who is completely off-limits is the one who drives me, Holland Brooks, wild. I want London, and I think…he wants me, too.

Some may compare it to a Shakespearian tragedy, as our surnames have fated our future, but when a single night changes my life forever, I can’t leave the City of Angels fast enough.

Ten years later, I have atoned for my sins and return to Los Angeles a changed woman. I’ve come home to get married. But the moment London walks back into my life, one thing is clear. Ten years can’t undo that night—that single, sinful night when I gave into temptation—because I want to do it again.

⭐️ 5+ "Hate & Love" Stars ⭐️

Where do I start this review? I seriously have no idea. This book captivated me completely and left me on a high! Absinthe of the Heart is unquestionably my new favorite book by Monica James. I’ve been reading her novels since the beginning of her career and loved them all, but this one is the whole package! This is an enemies-to-lovers romance full of angst, passion, twists and secrets, but most of all: ALL THE FEELS! This story is simply EVERYTHING!

“You’re the cause of my chaos, but when I’m with you… nothing has felt more real.”

Holland Brooks-Ferris and London “Sin” Sinclair-Arrington grew up hating each other. Their rivalry was forged by the sins of their parents! But under all this hate burns a searing attraction that is so HOT! Every single moment those two are in the same spaces, you feel the charged atmosphere and the perfect chaos they create effortlessly. Those scenes left me gasping for air and with my heart pounding fiercely in my chest! The level of angst is especially high and definitely gave me a RUSH of sensations!

Sin, likes to antagonize Holland by acting like a total jackass with her. Nothing is really as it seems though! In spite of his horrible actions, it’s clear as day this boy cares for her deeply. They say there’s a fine line between hate and love and it couldn’t be more true with them! With selfless and shocking actions, he slowly shows another side of himself to his “princess”.

“London Sinclair didn’t just break my heart; he fucking set it on fire and threw the ashes to the wind. I loved him, and in return, he danced on my grave.”

Miscommunications and lies forges the path to a decade apart for those two destined souls. Back in town for her wedding, Holland is still bitter about her abrupt parting with Sin, ten years earlier! She needs the answers that she never got! There’s a lot of resentment between this broken couple, but the chemistry is once again undeniable! The truth is the key to their happily ever after! Will they finally unveil all the secrets of their past and find a future together? It’s for you to find!

I cried tears of sadness and frustration, but also felt my heart flutter from the intense chemistry and passion showed between Sin and Holland! This book was a rollercoaster of FEELS after FEELS; bad and good! The powerful love displayed is picturesque but also heartbreaking.

“Love is messy, inconvenient, and at times, heartbreaking, but when you find it, you’ll do anything to hold it because you’re at its complete mercy.”

Monica James deserves ALL THE STARS and more for this outstanding novel. It’s the perfect mix of everything a book should be. I was obsessed with this story that was UNPUTDOWNABLE! Absinthe of the Heart had me utterly hooked and I need the next book ASAP!

**ARC received in exchange for an honest review **

MONICA JAMES

Monica James spent her youth devouring the works of Anne Rice, William Shakespeare, and Emily Dickinson.

When she is not writing, Monica is busy running her own business, but she always finds a balance between the two. She enjoys writing honest, heartfelt, and turbulent stories, hoping to leave an imprint on her readers. She draws her inspiration from life.

She is a bestselling author in the U.S., Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Israel, and the U.K.

Monica James resides in Melbourne, Australia, with her wonderful family, and menagerie of animals. She is slightly obsessed with cats, chucks, and lip gloss, and secretly wishes she was a ninja on the weekends.

Sous-titre modele june 2019 latestposts.
Sous-titre modele june 2019 latest revie
Sous-titre modele june 2019 archives.png
Sous-titre modele june 2019 bookstagram.
bottom of page