top of page

Review | Somebody Else's Sky (Something in the Way #2) by Jessica Hawkins --> 5 Stars


Somebody Else's Sky Cover

TITLE: Somebody Else's Sky

SERIES: Something in the Way #2 AUTHOR: Jessica Hawkins GENRE: Contemporary Romance

RELEASE DATE: May 22nd, 2017

If I closed my eyes, I could still see them—all blonde sunshine, ocean-blue eyes, and long limbs. The glint of Lake’s gold bracelet. Pink cotton candy on Tiffany’s tongue. My scenery may have changed from heaven to hell, but some things never would: my struggle to do right by both sisters. To let Lake soar. To lift Tiffany up. The sacrifices I made for them, I made willingly. A better man would’ve walked away by now, but I never claimed to be any good. I only promised myself I’d keep enough distance. If I’d learned one thing from my past, it was that love came in different forms. You could love passionately, hurt deep, die young. Or you could provide the kind of firm, steady support someone else could lean on. Lake was everything I wanted, and nothing I could ever have. I was nobody before I knew her and a criminal after. The way to love her was to let her shine—even if it would be for somebody else.

⭐️ 5 "Impossible Love" Stars ⭐️

I truly don’t know where to begin with this review. I’m still shaking inside from the way Somebody Else’s Sky finished. This book is definitely emotional and I don’t mean it lightly. All read long I had a lump in my throat from the hopelessness of Lake and Manning’s love story. This series is heart-breaking that’s for sure! This second tome completely drained me of all my emotions.

“You should have the world.

Fuck the world - you should have the universe, the sky, and every star in it.”

Seeing Manning and Lake apart is painful! While reading, I lived for every single interaction they shared together. The way Jessica Hawkins writes this sensational story, you can feel the deepness of their feelings for each other from the simplest contact. Agony, unfairness, hope and love are only a spectrum of the emotions you get to feel through your read. From a simple glance shared between Lake and Manning, I was completely hypnotized by their epic romance. They both struggles with their feelings and the unfairness of their situation.

“You think I don’t know how you feel? You think I don’t carry the burden of our love on my shoulders just to keep it from crashing down onto you?”

Manning only wants the best for Lake. He wants to preserve her youth and refreshing candour by trying to stay away, thinking he’s a bad influence on her and doesn’t deserve her. On her side, Lake is a little older and knows what she really wants. Manning’s decisions hurt her and she fights to convince him that they belong together. The back and forth is pure torture, but each moment they share is treasured.

I adored this story so much! I definitely need to recharged myself before starting Move the Stars, because I feel another whirlwind of emotions will take hold of me once again.

"You can't move the stars. I had tried, and I had failed."

THE SOMETHING IN THE WAY SERIES

Book #1

Something in the Way

Something in the Way Cover
 

Book #3

Move the Stars

Move the Stars Cover
 

Book #4

Lake + Manning

Releases February 13th, 2018

Lake + Manning Cover

Sous-titre modele june 2019 latestposts.
Sous-titre modele june 2019 latest revie
Sous-titre modele june 2019 archives.png
Sous-titre modele june 2019 bookstagram.
bottom of page