top of page

Review | Something In the Way (Something in the Way #1) by Jessica Hawkins --> 4.5 Stars


Something In the Way Cover

TITLE: Something in the Way

SERIES: Something in the Way #1 AUTHOR:Jessica Hawkins GENRE: Contemporary Romance

RELEASE DATE:February 27th, 2017

It was a hot summer day when I met him on the construction site next to my parents’ house. Under the sweat and dirt, Manning Sutter was as handsome as the sun was bright. He was older, darker, experienced. I wore a smiley-face t-shirt and had never even been kissed. Yet we saw something in each other that would link us in ways that couldn’t be broken...no matter how hard we tried. I loved Manning before I knew the meaning of the word. I was too young, he said. I would wait. Through all the carefully-chosen words hiding what we knew to be true, through his struggle to keep me innocent, and through infinitely-starry nights—I would wait. But I’d learn that life isn’t always fair. That no matter how much you achieve, none of it matters if you suffer the heartbreak that comes with falling for someone you can never have. Because even though I saw Manning first, that didn’t matter. My older sister saw him next.

⭐️ 4.5 "Birdy" Stars ⭐️

Something in the Way is a book that intrigued me since its release a few months back, but I just finally found time to start binge reading the series. I knew it would be an emotional story from the inviting synopsis, but this level of anticipation is killing me. I’m hooked on Lake and Manning’s forbidden love!

"I was sure the image of her looking up at me this way would be burned into my brain for as long as I walked this Earth."

I loved Lake and Manning’s relationship from their first interaction. It’s effortless, sweet, beautiful and heartwarming. Despite their age difference, they just connect and see something in each other that they can’t shake. Manning is attracted by Lake’s naïve and pure personality. She’s untainted by the evil in the world and he wants to keep her that way. He struggles with the way she makes him feel, but he knows it’s impossible for them to be anything. In Manning, Lake experiences the first blossoming of unknown feelings, from a crush to something much more powerful.

“It felt as if her goodness could actually be enough to heal my ugliness.”

I can’t express how much I was anticipating every single moment they had together. I was waiting for something more physical; a little touch or a kiss to happened between them, but I must admit that Jessica Hawkins completely entranced me with these two with the emotional connection only. It was enough to keep me engrossed in the pages of my book and live their challenging, heartbreaking relationship.

"My world had been so dark before Lake.

It worried me how far I'd go to keep that light in my life."

As much as I liked the story, it also brought infuriating moments. Tiffany, Lake’s sister is my biggest problem. She’s jealous of her little sister and is always imposing herself to Manning. But I still felt bad for her, being a disappointment for her father when Lake is such the “perfect” daughter. The sisters certainly have their differences, but they still share some bonding times in spite of their mutual interest in Manning.

"Manning and I were inevitable."

I loved this first installment in the series and I’m still shocked about how it ended. I feel like Somebody Else’s Sky, the second book, will destroy me with the level of feels. Jessica Hawkins definitely knows how to keep you engaged to a story with the level of intensity she provides with her words. I’m sure it’s only the beginning of my torment over this star-crossed couple!

THE SOMETHING IN THE WAY SERIES

Book #2

Somebody Else's Sky

Somebody Else's Sky Cover
 

Book #3

Move the Stars

Move the Stars Cover
 

Book #4

Lake + Manning

Releases February 13th, 2018

Sous-titre modele june 2019 latestposts.
Sous-titre modele june 2019 latest revie
Sous-titre modele june 2019 archives.png
Sous-titre modele june 2019 bookstagram.
bottom of page