top of page

Review | Absinthe by Winter Renshaw --> 5 Stars


Absinthe Cover

TITLE: Absinthe AUTHOR: Winter Renshaw

GENRE: Contemporary Romance

RELEASE DATE: August 8th, 2017

The name on the screen was “Absinthe.” I knew her as the sultry voice blowing up my phone for late night chats about Proust and Hemingway interspersed between the best phone sex I never knew I could have. We’d never met. Until the day she walked into my office, her cherry lips wrapped around a candy apple sucker and an all too familiar voice that said, “They said you wanted to see me, Principal Hawthorne?”

Absinthe was my introduction to Winter Renshaw’s books and I was pleasantly surprise by how much I liked it. From the blurb this story intrigued me and I dived into the book expecting something light and sexy, but I was so wrong. Absinthe is so much more and touched me profoundly with its deep emotional level.

"If things were different, I'd have made you mine the moment we met. Wait for me, Absinthe."

I adored the relationship Ford and Halston forged through all their interactions via the dating app Karma. Their personalities blend so well together and they just connect effortlessly. Both are searching for a simple and fun relationship, but it’s easy to see the feelings developing between them.

Halston, oh how much I enjoyed this sarcastic and misunderstood girl. She’s able to bring the sass and sexy in her texts and made me laugh a lot. But under her carefree attitude, she’s also a young woman that hides a rough past and is just trying to find her place in the world. With Ford aka Kerouac, she can really be herself.

"Some people were are born with silver spoons. I was born with a rusted paring knife."

Ford is also an incredible male lead. His career is very important to him and meeting someone new and starting a relationship isn’t in the plan for him, hence the use of the Karma app. Even if he tries to make these interactions with Halston less than what they are, it’s clear that she gradually steals his heart bit by bit.

When they finally meet, unexpectedly, after weeks of teasing and flirting over texts and phone calls, their slow building romance turns forbidden making their story gripping and torturing.

"She may have ruined me, but I still love her, and that's what hurts the most."

Winter Renshaw penned a beautifully forbidden love story that will leave you breathless from the high anticipation, desire, heartbreak, devotion and ultimately deep love of her main couple. You need Absinthe in your life, trust me!

Sous-titre modele june 2019 latestposts.
Sous-titre modele june 2019 latest revie
Sous-titre modele june 2019 archives.png
Sous-titre modele june 2019 bookstagram.
bottom of page