top of page

Review: Dear Agony by Georgia Cates --> 4.5 Stars!

Dear Agony Cover

TITLE: Dear Agony AUTHOR:Georgia Cates GENRE: Contemporary Romance

RELEASE DATE:March 1st, 2017

Dear Agony,

You've been my shadow, following me through childhood—filling my days and nights with terror and uncertainty. You cleverly disguised yourself as some form of pain or suffering as I grew into a young woman. We were unwavering companions … until I severed our ties.

I traded homelessness on the streets of New Orleans for a luxurious bed covered by the finest linens.

I traded dumpster diving for dinner in the finest restaurants.

I traded myself to a stranger—Bastien Pascal.

I have a good life within my platonic and mutually beneficial companionship with Bash.

He’s my friend. My mentor. My roommate.

Until everything changes.

I’m not supposed to get goosebumps when his hand brushes my skin.

I’m not supposed to be eager for his soothing touch following one of my nightmares.

I’m not supposed to think about what might happen if I reached out to him in the darkness.

Falling in love with him? Preposterous . . . unavoidable.

Agony, why are you back with a vengeance to rob me of this life I’ve come to love so dearly?

I’m finally happy. Don’t ruin this for me.

Always yours,

Rose

In this epic love story, Dear Agony forges a connection between an unlikely pair—a beautiful rose entwined in barbed wire and a shipwreck sinking into the darkest depths of the ocean. This agonizing romantic novel poses some gut-wrenching questions: What does a woman do when the man she loves is planning his own demise? And how far will she go to give him something to live for?

As it’s expected with a title like Dear Agony, this story was bound to be filled with strong anguish. This book was a truly poignant love story that touched me profoundly.

After being rescued from the New Orleans’ streets by a generous woman, Rose is trained to be a companion. After three years of guidance she’s hired by Bastien Pascal, a rich man seeking a friend to share his last few months with. They connect on every level and soon find themselves falling for each other. The deal was to keep it only platonic, so we see them struggling with these new found feelings. The big secret Bastien keeps from Rose about his condition and short future makes it distressing and tense, when you see the deep love they try to ignore.

This story was profoundly touching, showing a love in its realest form and I was amazed by this condemned couple. From the way the story was told, I thought there was only heartbreak for their ending, but I still hoped, struggled and broke for them. I found some parts of the story were a little too fast paced and missing the development of Rose and Bastien’s attachment, but this impression was dissolve by the feelings those two triggered in me. I was so invested in their epic but tragic romance.

This brilliant story shows the real power of love and its value. Georgia Cates skillfully brought to life two beautiful souls meant for each other as it is clearly reflected in their easy interactions. Don’t wait for steamy scenes, because this book isn’t about this side of their relationship. It’s all about their emotional intimacy where you get all the feels. Dear Agony was certainly an agonizing read, but this striking book was so worth it. I advise you to keep a box of tissue near you during your read, because you’ll need it.

GEORGIA CATES

Georgia resides in rural Mississippi with her wonderful husband, Jeff, and their two beautiful daughters. She spent fourteen years as a labor and delivery nurse before she decided to pursue her dream of becoming an author and hasn’t looked back yet.

When she’s not writing, she’s thinking about writing. When she’s being domestic, she’s listening to her iPod and visualizing scenes for her current work in progress. Every story coming from her always has a song to inspire it.

Representation: All questions regarding subsidiary rights for any of my books, inquiries regarding foreign translation and film rights should be directed to Jane Dystel of Dystel & Goderich.

 
Sous-titre modele june 2019 latestposts.
Sous-titre modele june 2019 latest revie
Sous-titre modele june 2019 archives.png
Sous-titre modele june 2019 bookstagram.
bottom of page