top of page

Review: This Is War (Checkmate #1) by Kennedy Fox


Twisted Palace

TITLE: This Is War

SERIES: Checkmate #1 AUTHOR: Kennedy Fox GENRE: New Adult Romance RELEASE DATE: October 3rd, 2016

*An enemies to lovers romance* Travis King is the worst kind of asshole. He taunts me for being a good girl and mocks my high standards. He’s cruel, crass, and has enough confidence to last two lifetimes. And I hate him. It wouldn’t matter so much if he were avoidable. But considering he’s my older brother’s best friend and roommate, I see him more than I’d ever want to. His sculpted abs and gorgeous eyes are a waste on such an egotistical man, which makes me hate him even more. Even though I’ve had a crush on him since I was ten, the feelings weren’t mutual and he’s always made that very clear. He’s always loved getting under my skin and one night against my better judgment, I let him in my bed. I’ve succumbed to his manwhore ways, but that doesn’t change a thing. Because the King is about to get played at his own game—and lose. Checkmate.

Wow! What a rollercoaster this book was. This Is War is THE kind of book I love! It’s full of angst, undeniable attraction, scorching hot scenes and stubborn protagonists.

“I bet you don’t have the balls to kiss me, Travis King. You’re all talk and no walk. Can’t say I’m really surprised.”

Viola and Travis have had a rocky relationship for nearly a decade. They can’t stand each other, but as the saying says, there’s a fine line between love and hate. They love to make each other crazy. It’s their game! The banters between them can start from artic cold to burning hot in seconds.

Travis is a confidant man-whore, but with Viola it’s like he becomes a boy and likes bringing the feisty in her. Viola is a nerdy heroine that achieves to put Travis in his place with her witty replicas. She’s not intimidated by his arrogance. They’re a match made in heaven… or in hell, depending on how you look at it!

Really, this read was a full on ride of pure SEXINESS and ANGST! They love to hate each other. They hate to love each other. I feel that with a little more communication, their relationship could have taken another turn. But they’re proud people and they can’t stand to be rejected so the game is endless!

“That girl can shoot daggers at me until she’s blue in the face, but her body will give her away every time. She may hate me on the surface, but there’s something inside her that isn’t telling the whole story.”

This book was pure feels from one extreme to the other and I can’t believe that ending we’re left on! Seriously?? I need book two ASAP!


THE CHECKMATE DUET

Book #2

This Is Love (Release date TBA)

This Is Love
 
Sous-titre modele june 2019 latestposts.
Sous-titre modele june 2019 latest revie
Sous-titre modele june 2019 archives.png
Sous-titre modele june 2019 bookstagram.
bottom of page