top of page

Review: Neighbor Dearest by Penelope Ward


neighbor dearest cover

TITLE: Neighbor Dearest

AUTHOR: Penelope Ward

GENRE: Contemporary Romance

RELEASE DATE: August 15, 2016

A STANDALONE NOVEL that does NOT need to be read in conjunction with any other book.

From New York Times bestselling author, Penelope Ward, comes a sexy new STANDALONE novel.

After getting dumped, the last thing I needed was to move next door to someone who reminded me of my ex-boyfriend, Elec.

Damien was a hotter version of my ex.

The neighbor I’d dubbed “Angry Artist” also had two massive dogs that kept me up with their barking.

He wanted nothing to do with me. Or so I thought until one night I heard laughter coming through an apparent hole in my bedroom wall.

Damien had been listening to all of my phone sessions with my therapist.

The sexy artist next door now knew all of my deepest secrets and insecurities.

We got to talking.

He set me straight with tips to get over my breakup.

He became a good friend, but Damien made it clear that he couldn’t be anything more.

Problem was, I was falling hard for him anyway. And as much as he pushed me away, I knew he felt the same…because his heartbeat didn’t lie.

I thought my heart had been broken by Elec, but it was alive and beating harder than ever for Damien.

I just hoped he wouldn’t shatter it for good.

Author's note – Neighbor Dearest is a full-length standalone novel. Due to strong language and sexual content, this book is not intended for readers under the age of 18.

Oh wow, this book! I was waiting to read it from the moment I saw the blurb and it started very strong with amusing scenes. But when I thought I had the book all figured out, an unforeseen twist made it even better. The story turned so much profound and not sweet and light anymore. I was completely surprised by it and it also increased my love for this wonderful romance!

“You’re in my heart and I can’t get you out. I don’t know if I want to. Being with you is the only thing that feels right.”

Chelsea had her heart broken when her boyfriend left her for someone else. A year later she moves in a new apartment and her new neighbor is so sexy, but kind of a jerk. The attraction between her and Damien is instant, but after a less than favorable meeting they share little moments that slowly start forging their friendship. The funny situations they put themselves in is hilarious by times, but there’s also sweet moments where they really connect. The two D’s, Damien’s dogs, are a great addition to the story and of a great importance. I think they were a link to help Damien and Chelsea open up to each other. While I was progressing with my read, the amusing tone of the book turned into a more solemn and serious one. The story then became deeper and more emotional. It was so beautifully done! There’s a lot of tension and heated moments that occur due to the growing feelings being denied by them both. They keep fighting and rejecting their need to be together for reasons they judge insurmountable. I felt sad for them, when they were at odds, seeing them both hurting by being away from each other. It was so easy to see they were the ideal couple. Their difficult choices were heartbreaking but needed, to help them understand the meaning of their feelings.

“Just know that I love you with all my heart and soul and that it’s limitless. As long as my heart is beating, it will only beat for you.”

Penelope Ward achieves to write here a gripping story of friendship turned into love and its hurdles, complimented by a charming duo of heroes. This story is one you don’t want to miss!

 
Sous-titre modele june 2019 latestposts.
Sous-titre modele june 2019 latest revie
Sous-titre modele june 2019 archives.png
Sous-titre modele june 2019 bookstagram.
bottom of page