top of page

Review: Pennies (Dollar #1) by Pepper Winters


an act of obsession cover

TITLE: Pennies

SERIES: Dollar #1

AUTHOR: Pepper Winters

GENRE: Romance, New Adult

RELEASE DATE: July 20th, 2016

“At 18 I had pennies, but money didn’t make me bold. At 19 I had dollars, but it didn’t dull the pain of being sold. At 20 I had hundreds, but then I met him and was found. At 21 I had thousands, but all I wanted was to be bound.” “At 23 I had dollars, but life changed and made me rich. At 25 I had hundreds, but it wasn’t enough to stop my killing itch. At 27 I had thousands, but my reputation didn’t set me free. At 29 I had millions, but I met her and could finally see.” Tasmin was killed on her 18th birthday. She had everything planned out. A psychology degree, a mother who pushed her to greatness, and a future anyone would die for. But then her murderer saved her life, only to sell her into a totally different existence. Elder went from penniless to stinking rich with one twist of fate. His lifetime of crime and shadows of thievery are behind him but no matter the power he now wields, it’s not enough. He has an agenda to fulfil and he won’t stop until it’s complete. But then they meet. A beaten slave and a richly dressed thief. Money is what guided their separate fates. Money is what brought them together. And money is ultimately what destroys them. She was poor. He was rich. Together…they were bankrupt.

Pennies is my first read by Pepper Winters and I’m so glad to finally have enter her dark romance world. It was a fantastic read with a good dose of twisted and enigmas. I discovered an author with a superb writing style, the words flowing beautifully on the pages.

Tasmin is a young woman abducted and soon sold to a twisted man for a whole lot of money. Right then, she vows to never speak again; her muteness being the only thing she has control on in this new life as a slave. She’s also renamed Pimlico, because the girl she was is now dead! Pim is a strong leading female, in spite of everything she suffers in this perverted environment. It would be easier for her to just let go sometimes, but she keeps hanging on. Reading her internal struggles about her situation was heart wrenching. Her monologues were filled with distress and desperation that touched me deeply. Two years after entering this hell, a man full of secrets enters her life. Elder is there to conclude a deal with her Master and at first sight he’s fascinated by Pim. He keeps fighting with himself between right or wrong, but her vulnerability brought unknown feelings in him that kept him seeking her. Pim and Elder have a certain understanding of each other. Despite her muteness and desire to stay away, Elder is able to read her like an open book. He seems to be overcome by darkness and fight to keep a little bit of light in his life while being in Pim’s presence. He’s a cryptic man and I couldn’t wait to peel another layer on his past and understand him a little better.

The story slowly built and it helped the process of knowing a little better the characters. Pennies being the first of the five-book Dollar series it was really well done to keep it intriguing and not unveiled everything at once. There’s still many answers to bring to light about this story and its protagonists. It’s only the beginning! It’s surely a very good start to a brand new series by Pepper Winters that will keep you captivated and wanting more!

DOLLAR SERIES

Book #2

Dollars (Releases September 2016)

Book #3

Hundreds (Release date TBA)

Book #4

Thousands (Release date TBA)

Book #5

Millions (Releases date TBA)

 

Sous-titre modele june 2019 latestposts.
Sous-titre modele june 2019 latest revie
Sous-titre modele june 2019 archives.png
Sous-titre modele june 2019 bookstagram.
bottom of page