top of page

Release Tour + Review: The First Taste (Slip of the Tongue #2) by Jessica Hawkins


the first taste release tour

THE FIRST TASTE, SECOND BOOK IN THE SLIP OF THE TONGUE SERIES IS FINALLY HERE. IN THIS POST YOU'LL FIND MY IMPRESSIONS ON THIS SEXY ROMANCE AND THE BUY LINKS.

 

TITLE: The First Taste

SERIES: Slip of the Tongue #2 AUTHOR: Jessica Hawkins GENRES: Contemporary Romance

RELEASE DATE: August 4, 2016

fleeting moments cover

Andrew Beckwith has already devoted his life to one girl—and as far as he’s concerned, she’s all he needs. The rough-around-the-edges bad boy left his reckless ways behind six years ago when his daughter Bell was born. To the female population’s dismay, he’s unapologetically single. When Bell’s mother walked out on them years ago, he vowed never to let another woman close enough to hurt them again. Amelia Van Ecken isn’t just another woman. She’s an independent, smart, and savvy businesswoman who doesn’t have time for sex, much less love. In the midst of a drawn-out, bitter divorce, all she wants is to bury herself in work. But when sharp-tongued Amelia and stubborn Andrew cross paths, sparks fly—and burn. Two things are obvious in an instant: they want each other, and they’re from different worlds. It’s the perfect formula for an off-the-charts one-night stand. After all, it’s not as if opposites ever attract.

The First Taste, a standalone spin-off of the Slip of the Tongue.

The First Taste was my first read by Jessica Hawkins. I know it’s the second book of a series, but being a standalone I give it a try anyway because the blurb appealed to me. I really enjoyed my read, but I had a little difficulty to completely connect with the story by moments.

Andrew is a single father, raising a six-year-old girl. One day, visiting his sister at her job, he meets her uptight boss Amelia. They’re complete opposites: he’s an easy-going mechanic from the suburbs and she’s a serious city girl living for her job. After being over their first impressions and judgments, their different personalities don’t prevent them from forging an evident attachment. After they agree on one together, it seems they can’t follow with it and must see each other again. Together they had good moments and I liked the funny banters they exchanged. I didn’t feel the chemistry as much as I would have liked in their intimate moments, but the conversations they shared were spot-on. With their more frequent meeting they started to open up a little about themselves and I liked seeing their background and what made them afraid to open their heart to love again. There was also drama brought by conflicts with their exes and I appreciated seeing them support each other in these occasions. But I must admit that one of my favorite part of the book was Bell. This little girl stole the show for me. She was sweet and funny and her relationship with her father was incredible.

There were great moments in the book and others where I kind of lost focus, because for me the novel was a little too long. Having been shorter, I guess it would have help me connect more. But generally I really liked the story and the characters.

JESSICA HAWKINS

Jessica Hawkins grew up between the purple mountains and under the endless sun of Palm Springs, California. She studied international business at Arizona State University and has also lived in Costa Rica and New York City. To her, the most intriguing fiction is forbidden, and that's what you'll find in her stories. Currently, she resides wherever her head lands, which is often the unexpected (but warm) keyboard of her trusty MacBook.

 

Sous-titre modele june 2019 latestposts.
Sous-titre modele june 2019 latest revie
Sous-titre modele june 2019 archives.png
Sous-titre modele june 2019 bookstagram.
bottom of page